Campus Buildings Directory
3 floors, basement
This building in the engineering complex was dedicated Oct. 17, 2003, and named for major donor Robert J. Eaton, a 1963 alumnus and retired chair of DaimlerChrysler AG. Eaton donated $5 million for the project, about one-third of the cost of the 80,000-square-foot hall, which was funded entirely through private donations. It was designed by Gould Evans Associates of Lawrence and is connected by an enclosed walkway to Learned Hall.
It houses the dean’s office suite; the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; the Engineering Career Services Center; classrooms; instructional and computer labs; an atrium and computing commons; faculty and graduate teaching assistant offices; and the multimedia Spahr Engineering Classroom, which seats 250.
1530 Engel Road 66045
Opened in 1983 and known as “Mrs. E’s,” it was named in 1993 for Lenoir D. Ekdahl, director of residence-hall food service for 35 years before her retirement in 1989. The three-level dining area for the 3,300 students in residence halls adjoins Lewis Hall on Daisy Hill; it features food-court style service and seats more than 700 diners.
580 men and women
Built in 1963 as a men’s hall, it is named for Fred Ellsworth, a 1922 journalism alumnus who from 1924 to 1963 was secretary of the Alumni Association and editor of its Graduate Magazine. Remodeled in 2002-03, it houses about 580 men and women in two-person rooms, suites and studios. It houses the 3E program, which gives hall residents opportunities to explore careers and majors.